Is there a balance of facts and views in your story?

My story is focused on the effects the new development of Auckland University is going to have on the surrounding area of Newmarket. It will be mainly opinion based because it involves the local community and their thoughts about what this will bring to the area. However, there will be factual information included in my final story about Auckland University’s plans for this development for the future and mention of the site’s significant history.

Also, on Thursday I have managed to set up an important interview with Ashley Church, the CEO of the Newmarket Business Association to get his fresh perspective on the matter. This will hopefully provide me with both facts and opinions for my story and contribute further information on how Newmarket is going to adapt to such a large change.

From walking the streets near Khyber Pass Road I was able to talk to a few shop assistants and ask them about their views on this topic. It helped me to understand how the local community will feel once this new part of the university is completed.

I think my story will potentially have more opinions than facts but this is because it is a very new development and people are not fully aware of what is going to happen in the near future.

 

1 thought on “Is there a balance of facts and views in your story?

  1. Your news story fits the news value of timeliness very well! The development of Auckland University in New Market has come up in my conversations with various peers and it is truly interesting to read more about it and the effects members of the public think this will have on their business. I never even thought of the economic advantages of this construction for New Market shops before reading this! I congratulate you on securing an interview with Ashley Church and feel this will be a very beneficial perspective. The vast research you have done into the background of what used to be on the site as well as sourcing Auckland University’s plans gives credibility to your research and a well balanced story. As you mentioned, obviously with construction in its early stages there is going to be slightly more opinion then facts about the building but this is to be expected. Well done!

Leave a comment